Freedom in Limitation

I have more basses than I can easily count. I have a couple of 6-string basses, a handful of 5-string basses, and an endless supply of 4-string basses. I have long scale basses, short scale basses, neck-through basses, active basses, passive basses, an acoustic electric bass, an electric upright bass. I even have a couple of broken basses that I’m keeping around with the intent of fixing them.

I might have more basses than I need, though at the time I bought each one of them, I could justify it as something unique. And I’ve upgraded most of my basses, making them more unique than when I bought them.

But for all my basses owned, I’m still an “okay” bass player at best.

My goal, for whatever time I have left on this earth, is to go from “okay bass player” to “Bassist.” In my mind, “Bassist” is one who encompasses the bass, can play what he is thinking, one who makes the instrument an extension of his own mind, his own body, his own soul.

I’m not planning to purge my collection, but I also don’t need all of my basses to unleash the Bassist within. So for the first quarter of 2024, I’m limiting myself to three basses: a Fernandes P-bass, a Fender Jazz bass, and a fretless Fender Jazz bass.

4-strings. 20 frets. Passive electronics. No effects.

I’m not going to be stupid and say, “There’s nothing worth playing that can’t be played on these basses.” 24 frets give you added range, as do additional strings. There are things worth playing on other basses. But the limitation will force me to be creative within the parameters I’m setting for myself. The limitation will eliminate novelty, without being a limitation on advancing from “okay” to “mastery.”

With a little bit of work, by April 1 I’ll no longer be fooling myself with my bass dreams.

Leave a comment